Furiously Happy

download (2).jpg

My goodness, this book is HILARIOUS! I read the majority of this in a day. I turned off my laptop, sat down in bed and read and read and read. When I eventually had to get up to eat or go to the bathroom, I carried my kindle everywhere. I was probably in quite a lot of hazardous situations that day but I truly couldn’t care less. I wanted to absorb and memorise every funny story or thing Jenny Lawson wrote and repeat it all to my long-suffering boyfriend, friends, and family. Unfortunately, a lot of Jenny’s jokes need context and I have the memory of a gnat.

You may notice I say ‘Jenny’ a lot in this review. Usually, I refer to authors as ‘the author’ or by their last name but through this book, Jenny feels more like a friend who helps her readers get through some truly terrible stuff by being completely cooky and crazy. She even addresses the reader and you feel like she is sat telling you a long and hilarious story. I have recommended absolutely everyone this year to read this book, to the point where I am sure everyone wants to ram the book down my throat. Funny thing is though this was a book I put off reading that my best friend urged me to read. She only got me to read it when she let me listen to 2 minutes of the audio book and I was hooked. Sorry, friend – I just have an unnecessary problem with choosing my own things, haha.

Jenny Lawson describes her own work as a “funny book about living with mental illness. It sounds like a terrible combination, but personally, I’m mentally ill and some of the most hysterical people I know are as well. So if you don’t like the book then maybe you’re just not cray enough to enjoy it. Either way, you win”. This book is about making the best of your problems. You may be depressed, anxious, completely downtrodden but in this book, Jenny is “fucking done with sadness, and I don’t know what’s up with the ass of the universe lately but I’ve had it. I AM GOING TO BE FURIOUSLY HAPPY, OUT OF SHEER SPITE”. And that’s how the book came about. Jenny tells us her story of her mental health (and physical health) struggles and makes us laugh along the way.

This book is again, hilarious! I made an ass of myself on the bus. I made an ass of myself in the university I was tutoring in. I also made an ass of myself in work so thanks Jenny for that. It was SO worth it. If you don’t find Jenny endearing, cooky and a ball of sunshine then you may find her antics with her husband and little girl funny. I must admit I love, love, LOVE Jenny but any of her stories that included Victor, her husband, they just got me completely. My friend has actually stated that Victor and Jenny are my partner and I and funny enough, I had been thinking the same thing. Jenny is unique, quirky and as I keep saying, cooky, whilst Victor is sensible and knows when to say no (even if no-one will listen anyway). These mixed make my partner and I (I am the quirky one apparently! Quirky and proud!). Anyway, I think a lot of people can relate. I have seen a few negative reviews about the humour or the issues at hand but they have confessed themselves that they have not suffered with mental health issues and simply found Jenny too ‘silly’.

I will admit that Jenny will not be everyone’s cup of tea but there is something for everyone in this book. You will have to adjust to the kind of crazy humour Jenny has but it is very quick and the message of this book is just fabulous. Also – have you seen the cover? It has a taxidermy raccoon in a furiously happy pose! Who could not love that? This book is so impressive. For some reason, I gave it four stars on Goodreads but as time has passed, I have definitely gained more adoration for it. I think this is a thing that most readers of Jenny will find. Not everyone is going to like Jenny. Her stories are exaggerated and over the top and her comments to her own editor get kind of crazy too but sometimes, you’ve just got to step outside that comfort zone and give it ago. It will be for a lot of people.

I read this book before I read Jenny’s debut novel and still enjoyed it as much as I did when I read the first so do not worry about any order!

Originally had given this book four stars but I have upped it to five stars as it has matured in my brain like a good, stinky cheese!

Blog Update: Chugging my way through IT still (can we appreciate that I am quarter of the way through, woohoo!), I really want that review up as there is hype for the new movie. I am also working through a Bloomsbury novel that is out in August so hopefully will have some interesting blogs for you guys in the weeks to come!

3 thoughts on “Furiously Happy

  1. Lauren @ BAOTB says:

    Jenny Lawson is by far my favorite blogger. I discovered her blog, then I discovered her books, and I preordered “Furiously Happy” the moment I heard of it. I reread it twice in the same day because it just resounded with me. (I actually brought it back from my parent’s house this weekend to read it again, since I’m going through a lot of tough mental stuff at the moment.)

    If you haven’t read “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened,” do so. There’s a chapter on her having explosive diarrhea that I had just absolute tears streaming down my face from laughing so hard. Her books are hard to read sometimes because of what they deal with, and they’re not for everybody (what with the language and all), but Jenny does indeed feel like a friend. She’s such a great person and I hope she comes around on a book tour someplace near me someday.

    (She’s also got a coloring book out now — You Are Here. I haven’t colored mine in yet, because I’m too anxious to put pencil to paper!)

    Like

    • Foxtrevert says:

      Oh as soon as I read “Furiously Happy”, I got “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened”, I laughed so hard again but I really enjoyed how real she was at the same time, especially with her struggles to have her daughter! Even when she buries her poor dog and she has to beat away the birds and everything, god, it was so sad but so hilarious at the same time, I felt bad for laughing! I just really love her, she really helps her readers and herself and that makes me happy. I’m sorry you are going through some mental stuff but Jenny is definitely a great companion to have through this 🙂 Once I’ve finished reviewing for a few people, I will definitely give it a read myself again (maybe when I move in the next few weeks as some peace of mind!).
      You got “You are Here” ? 😮 Is it beautiful?? I am thinking of ordering it when I finally move!

      Like

      • Lauren @ BAOTB says:

        Oh, it’s absolutely beautiful! I can’t bring myself to color It! It’s not just pictures; she does have some helpful writings in it (and it’s a little more serious than her other books). It’s nice and thick and the paper shouldn’t bleed unless you’re using sharpies.

        I don’t know how I found her blog, but I love reading each of her updates, especially if they involve taxidermy animals.

        Like

Leave a Reply

